no-knead bread is stupid good

Though my friends at WellPerserved.ca have waxed poetic about this recipe for months, I hadn’t yet tried it. My mother gifted me with a enameled 3.5Q casserole pot a few weeks ago though so I no longer had an excuse– it was time to make no-knead bread!

Saturday 6pm– 4c flour, 2c warm water, 2tsp salt and 1/2tsp instant yeast went into a bowl and quickly stirred together. Threw a clean shower cap on the bowl and sat it on the counter. This took about a whole 2 minutes.

Sunday 9am– dumped the beautifully risen contents out onto a floured board and folded it twice. Let sit for 15minutes. Then shaped it easily into a ball which was then plopped onto a floured+cornmealed dusted tea towel. Folded the ends over the ball and let it rise for another 2 hours until doubled.

10:30am– preheated the oven to 450f with the casserole in it

11am– pulled pot out, flopped the dough ball into the pot, put the lid on and into the oven it went for 30 minutes. Then called my mom, but that’s not part of the recipe.

11:30– remove lid and baked for another 15 minutes so the top would get all nice and brown.

11:45– timer beeps, my bread is done!

12:00– munching happily away on my most chewy, moist and flavourful bread with a dab of butter. Glorious!

